A Tour of My Crafty Crib, Yo.

So, as I mentioned in a previous post, I completely overhauled my craft room.  I wish I had “before” photos – you’d be shocked.  This room was a “catch all” for Chris and I – there was stuff EVERYWHERE.  Anyhow, this is what it looks like now, and I’m quite the happy crafter. 

Above is the view as you first enter the room.  Everything is neat and in its place.  Moving to the left…

You can see I’m one of the many people who suffer from TMCD (too many compact disks).  I plan to eventually get all of these digitially stored onto my hard drive, but for now, this is their home. 

And what would a girl with TMCD do without some stereo equipment?  Your eyes do not decieve you – those are some seriously big speakers.  Now, these bad boys might be old, but they pump out some serious sound when I turn them up.  Which is… not often, but you get the idea.  And aww yeah – that IS a mini fridge!  Hey, this room is on the 3rd floor of my house (read: far away from food and beverage).  And you’d better believe there are some “beverages” in that fridge.  How else can I get my crafting done?

Turning again to the left, now you see that I also suffer from TMDB (too many damned books).  But honestly, can anyone really have too many books?  I know that with the Kindle and Nook digital books are very sexy these days — but real paper and binding books are sexy in an older-professor-with-a-tweed-jacket kinda way.  Am I right, ladies?  Ahem… moving on. 

I bet you’re wondering what’s behind those curtains (besides a lit up ficus tree)…

Why it’s some neatly organized crafting supplies!  Yes, I also organized behind the curtain, because as you (and undoubtedly Dorothy) know, sometimes what’s behind the curtain is just as important as what’s in front!

I love this lamp and there is a story behind it.  I got it at IKEA a few months ago and am just now using it.  Maybe one day I’ll tell the story, but for now, just know that I have plans for this lamp when I finally get my PhD and need a smart-looking, timeless lamp to illuminate my university desk. 

And now for some fabric:

Looks like I’ve got some quilts in my future.  This is really only representative of about a third of the fabric I have.  I love fabric and the possibilities that lie within its weave – I just wish I had more time to get those possibilities going.  But now that I’ve organized this room…

I can honestly say that this is my new favorite place to hang out at home.  I’m so glad that I took the time to really overhaul this room – it was worth every minute.  And now, finally, I can get to the crafting I’ve been craving.

3 thoughts on “A Tour of My Crafty Crib, Yo.

    • Thank you for the compliment! I’m enjoying it while it lasts! If my hubby and I have a baby anytime soon, I think I’ll be losing my room… but I think that would be just fine by me!

What do you think?

