Enjoying everything. Or, at least trying to.

So, I’m pregnant.  And, as with almost every bodily change and/or function, there could be quite a bit to complain about.

But, I’m really just trying to enjoy everything.  This is my first time through pregnancy, and even with subsequent children, I will never have a “1st Pregnancy” again.  So, contrary to popular belief, I’m trying to get excited about nausea, fatigue, and the absence of wine and brie cheese from my diet.  These are all signs that things are going well, and I’m doing my best to support this amazing experience.

I’m not saying that it’s easy, though.  The first several weeks were very difficult.  Along with nausea that would strike without notice, Chris and I were also keeping the pregnancy under wraps until we were ready to share with the world.

This was possibly the only time in my life I have justified blatant, outright lying to family and friends.

“Andrea, would you like a glass of wine?”

“Oh, no thanks.  I’m… on a diet.”

“We made these awesome salami, prociutto, and feta cheese sandwiches….”

“Oh, that sounds great… but, I’m dieting.”

“We’re going to Great Adventure next weekend!  We’re going to ride the new SkyScreamer.  Wanna come?”

“Uh… I can’t.  I’m… dieting?”

I’ve found that being on a “diet” is a great way of getting out of many pregnancy food and activity no-nos.

And while it hasn’t been easy, and I find myself getting annoyed from time to time, I’m really making a conscientious effort to enjoy this.  I don’t want to be selfish and act like being pregnant is this huge inconvenience –  when in fact, it’s this amazing, life-altering, and albeit, temporary experience.  It is unfortunate that I’ve known a few people who have felt the opposite.

But I digress.

I’ve actually started getting excited about symptoms – so, if on the off chance you hear me complain, just remind me of this blog post and give me some pickles and ice cream.

One thought on “Enjoying everything. Or, at least trying to.

  1. Pingback: Television Schmelevision. |

What do you think?

