Television Schmelevision.

So, on Wednesday of this past week I got seriously irritated with myself.

I was watching TV at 12:30 in the afternoon, and I had realized that I had been doing so for the past 4 hours since I had gotten up and started sipping my coffee.  Now, for those of you who don’t know, yes, I am employed, but I’m a teacher and it’s July, so I’m “off.”  I say “off” because while I’m not actually going to a job outside of my home right now, I am still quite busy with all sorts of household, graduate school, rental property, real estate, and personal things.

Anyway, I was so angry that I had allowed a full 4 hours to pass with nary a thing accomplished that I jumped up from the couch, threw my hands in the air and shouted, “Enough!”

Well, it wasn’t that grandiose, but it sure felt that way.

I turned the TV off and I personally have not turned it on again since.  It’s been 6 days and it’s been wonderful!  My husband has turned it on a couple of times at night, which is fine, but I’ve dismissed myself from the room and instead went up to the bedroom to read.

By the way, I’m reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.  It’s so much nicer to fall asleep with a book than re-runs of Friends on Nick at Nite.

During these last 6 days I’ve also accomplished a tremendous amount of housework that has been seriously lacking around here.  With a baby on the way, this is especially nesty of me and it does not surprise me at all that I’m getting a great deal of satisfaction from loads of clean laundry, less clutter, and a general “prettiness” about my abode.

The added bonus of having the TV off means I can listen to one of my super-favorite radio stations, too:

Temple University’s WRTI Classical and Jazz.  For those of you in the listening area, it’s at 90.1 FM.  In the background, I’m getting quite the education on classical, crossover, and jazz music.  I feel more cultured already.

Granted, I still have the distractions of the internet and my phone, but even these are far lessened since I’ve gotten so much more involved in other things.

And the truth is, I’m really enjoying this.  I don’t miss TV at all.  I will say that it’s probably much easier to do this during the summer when there are re-runs on TV and plenty to do outside, so perhaps, in the Fall, when two of my uber-favorite shows return to the airwaves (this one and this one) I may flip the ol’ tele back on again.  But I think, by then, I’ll have a tad more self-control and probably only watch the select few programs I truly want to see.

I’ll keep you posted.

And in the meantime, maybe try no TV for yourself.  You may be pleasantly surprised.

What do you think?

