I never know what to say…

So, today marks the start of yet another new graduate school course for me.  Not every professor requires an “icebreaker” activity, but some do.  Since this is an “online only” degree program, everything is conducted online or via posts to discussion boards on the dynamic “Blackboard Learn” system.

I have learned that my professor is not only younger than me, but he has a whole bunch of letters after his name… I haven’t yet decided how I feel about this.  But I digress – back to the “icebreaker…”

So, this professor’s first “assignment” is to post an introduction of ourselves to the discussion board.  I never know what to say…

He wants some info about our work, our experience, our personal lives, and our goals.  Since I never know if I’m “oversharing” or not, I figured I’d post my response here and get some feedback:

Hello everyone!  My name is Andrea Martin and I’m a Special Education teacher at the Burlington County Special Services School District.  I work within the Educational Services Unit and we provide Basic Skills support to Special Ed students within the private and parochial schools of Burlington County.  I graduated from Rowan with my Teacher of the Handicapped B.A. in 2001, I started my career at Lenape High School in Medford, NJ, I’ve been with BCSSSD since 2009, and I’ve primarily worked with students who have learning and behavioral disabilities.  In between school districts, I worked for a few years with my husband in real estate, and that was an education in itself!  

On a personal note, I’m going to become a mom this January!  My husband and I are very excited and naturally, very busy, too.  We’re doing our best to prepare for this special arrival, along with still living our busy lives.  I enjoy lots of outdoor activities like golf, skiing, hiking, and gardening.  But I also enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, and crafting, too.  

My future professional goals include graduating from Rowan with my M. Ed. in Teacher Leadership, and eventually obtaining my LDT-C.  I’ve played around with the idea of eventually getting my Ph.D. – but we’ll see how the next few years go, as I’ve already got quite a bit on my plate.  Until recently, one of my personal goals was to start a family, but since I’m already on my way with that, I suppose my next personal goal is to buy a bigger house (naturally). 

I’m looking forward to this course because I think it will be a much needed refresher for me, and I’m excited to see what ideas I obtain for my classroom.   

Best of luck to everyone!

And there you have it.  Me, in a nutshell, on the discussion board.  Sometimes it’s surreal to read those words and think, hey, that’s me.

But I know it’s so much more than that.

What do you think?

