A few thoughts from this week…

This was a long week.  I suppose that’s a good thing, because I always get a little freaked out when time passes too quickly.  This was also a very busy week – full of interesting events.  Here are a few thoughts:

Friendship should be easy.

And if it’s not, it’s probably going in the wrong direction.  I’m not saying that it shouldn’t require some effort from both parties, but one of the lessons I learned about friendship this week is that it shouldn’t be complicated… and most importantly, a friendship shouldn’t be peppered with doubt on a regular basis.  Unfortunately, there is some doubt floating around me these days and I’m attempting to sort it out.

Summer vacation is almost over, and I’m actually a little excited about that.

It was a hot, buggy summer and anyone who knows me, knows that I love to hang out on my deck.  Didn’t happen this year.  I bought a plethora of plants back in the spring to decorate my deck and I watched them wither away in the relentless heat this year (from inside the house, I might add).  While I had a lot of fun this summer, and I traveled like crazy and did a ton of stuff, it was difficult being pregnant in this heat.  I tired easily and was constantly thirsty.  I’m heading back to work after the Labor Day weekend and while it means earlier mornings and well, work – I’m looking forward to the routine and most importantly – the Autumn weather.

Compiling a baby registry is much like furnishing an entire house from scratch in one day. 

At first, it’s fun.  But then, it starts to get confusing.  Then, it’s just exhausting, and as you shuffle through aisle after aisle of stuff you probably don’t need, you start second-guessing your choices and begin randomly scanning items because, after all, you’ve never done this before and you just might need that double-stuffed-fleece-lined-drool-resistant-head-support thingy for the carseat (even though the carseat you picked out already has one…)  But, we sorted everything out and even with all the delirium, the registry is done and we’re all set for the eventual shower.

I’m also all set for retirement.

Because I’ve got a little David Beckham or Mia Hamm residing inside my body.  But to be serious, I felt the baby kick for the first time this past Wednesday night… and this little bean was whooping it up so much so, that even Chris could feel it.  Which is unusual, because dads aren’t usually able to feel the kicking until a little later on.  So, kick away my little star athlete!

And speaking of whether it’s a “he” or “she,” the baby is going to be a…

Healthy baby!  We had our anatomy scan Friday and all essential parts are accounted for!  Everything looks good and even though the technician had a difficult time finding the boy/girl “parts” to determine the gender, she obliged to writing what she thinks the sex of the baby is on a card that Chris and I will open later, probably this weekend.  We will first reveal the gender to close family and friends, with Facebook and this blog being next.

So, if you want to know the baby’s gender – that’s even more reason to subscribe and get an email when I update my blog!

Psst… you can subscribe by looking over on the right side of the screen —->>

So, until next time, enjoy the holiday weekend!

One thought on “A few thoughts from this week…

What do you think?

