Fastest 6 Months. Ever.

So, I’m officially in my third trimester.  I find this calculation interesting, and I’ll get back to that later, but let me start by saying this first:  HOLY COW, THAT WAS FAST!

In the beginning, it was amazing to think about what was happening – the fruit comparisons (“this week, your baby is the size of a grape!”) and how MUCH TIME we still had.  Creating a registry, taking childbirth classes, writing our birth plan, setting up the “nursery,” choosing names, and feeling those first wonderful kicks and movements were still in the future.

But now, they are here.  We are in the full-on swing of things, and even though we still have SO much to do, hitting the Third Trimester mark has thrown me for a bit of a loop.

I find the calculation of being in my third trimester interesting.  If you go by “the average” pregnancy being 40 weeks, then yes, at 28 weeks I hit this third trimester stage (I am currently 28 weeks, 3 days, and this is the coolest pregnancy calculation website I’ve seen so far, btw).  However, since most women do not give birth on their due date, and most first-time-moms actually go into spontaneous labor closer to 42 weeks, I suppose you could suggest that I haven’t quite yet hit my third trimester.  Any way you look at it, I am less than 3 months away from my due date and whether I want to realize it or not, January will be here soon.

I’ve often wondered if I’ll be one of those women who starts to get antsy around my due date.  I wonder if a week before my due date I’ll start wiggling around trying to get labor started.  I wonder if a week after my due date I’ll start hanging from chandeliers to get things going.

Since I’m letting nature take it’s course, I’ll probably do neither, but I will most likely start assuming every twinge is the onset of labor sometime around Christmas.  Let’s hope baby stays put until the holidays are well over and done…

And when I post things on Facebook about being in my third trimester, I expect that at least one person will ask me to post pictures of my growing belly.  I would love to, but unless you know me personally and have seen me at least once since I got pregnant – well, I don’t look particularly pregnant.  I guess it’s the way I’m carrying – baby is sitting low and wide and tucked in.  So, I just look like I’ve been hitting the doughnuts a little too hard.

But, in case you’re really curious, here is what I don’t look like:

Hopefully, in a few weeks, that will change.  Eventually, I will post pictures of the real me.  Stay tuned!

 

2 thoughts on “Fastest 6 Months. Ever.

  1. Now every day and every week will be a change. And, yes, as the time draws nearer, Chris look out. That house will be so clean, and there will be gourmet meals and the dogs will be bathed at least once every other day and then and then and then….here comes BABY….the onset of nesting….I know I did it. Love to all of you….MOM

What do you think?

