Washi Tape for the Win!

Washi Tape for the Win!

Another fun morning at MOPS yesterday… we made Washi Tins!

I’ll get to that in a minute, but first I want to talk about conviction.

con·vic·tion

n.

1. Law:  a. The judgment of a jury or judge that a person is guilty of a crime as charged.  b. The state of being found or proved guilty: evidence that led to the suspect’s conviction. 

2. a. The act or process of convincing.  b. The state of being convinced.

3. A fixed or strong belief.

Being at my MOPS meeting yesterday morning was an experience in conviction.  And I do mean by all three definitions.

When we pray together and listen to each other’s prayer requests, as is customary at some point at each MOPS meeting, it is almost too much for me to handle sometimes.  I learn about other moms and the struggles they face – some wretchedly heartbreaking – and I step back and realize that once again, the Lord has convicted me right where I stand.  He has convicted me of my crimes of ingratitude, selfishness, closed-mindedness, tunnel-vision, and having a judgmental nature.  I crumble inside, bite the inner skin of my lip, and push my eyes heavenward to keep myself from crying as I listen to these beautiful women share the deepest needs of their lives, the hidden corners of their hearts.

I am then convinced that I have no problems.  The “issues” that “plague” my life are not the storms I imagine them to be.  I am not being washed away – rather I am being washed clean by Christ’s grace – and I have nothing to fear.  I am blessed so that I may be a blessing.  It is that simple.

My convictions now shift – I return home to my husband and pull him close to me, silently thanking God with every fiber of my being for such a wonderful man.  I kiss my daughter crazy and bathe in her delicious laughter – I smile at my silly dogs who begin to bark at nothing at all.  I have a happy marriage, a healthy child, food on my table, a safe home.

Lord, may I be a blessing to others.  Let me love as you love and serve as you would have me serve. Let me see your children as you do, and let your light shine through me in all that I do.

*  *  *  *  *

And now, on a more light-hearted note:  Washi Tins!

20131017_104041

Washi Tape is this cool, decorated, colorful tape similar to masking tape that you can use to decorate all sorts of things.  I will admit that until yesterday, I hadn’t used it and wasn’t familiar with it.

20131017_104251

Just peel, cut, and stick.

20131017_231346

The finished product.

20131017_231252

I love a little pretty container for teensy things.  And I think I may be in love with Washi Tape.  I’ve already checked Pinterest.

100waystowashi

I’m in trouble.

2 thoughts on “Washi Tape for the Win!

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Want to Be Brave. |

  2. Andrea, you can’t say more than that! You are blessed, and we are blessed with you, Chris, and Nora! Praise the Lord!

What do you think?

