Inappropriate Politeness

So, this is my rant for today.

People who are overly polite.  Polite when it’s totally unnecessary.  I call it inappropriate politeness.  An example?  Why, sure!

At my favorite shopping complex, there is a 3-way intersection in which incoming traffic does not have a stop sign, therefore incoming traffic does not stop.  Traffic waiting to turn or leave the complex, however, does need to stop.

Guess where I’m going with this.

I cannot tell you how many times I am the person at the stop sign being “waved on” to go by someone incoming who thinks they are making my day.

You are not making my day.

You are making me mad.  You are making a traffic jam.  You are making inappropriate politeness.

road rage

Another example?  Well, I don’t mind if I do!

The other day as I was coming in to work, a young female student held the door open for me.  Before I could say “thank you,” SHE said, “thank you.”

I can’t make this stuff up, people.  The real world has just too much blog fodder.

awkward door hold

And then, there’ this last example.  It has to do with driving, again.  There is just so much to say about driving… I could fill a whole blog on the joys of driving in New Jersey.  But here’s my dig:

New Jersey Drivers + Inappropriate Politeness = Certain Death.

You know it – that moment when that person in that car (who has the “right of way”) SLAMS on the brakes to let a merging car (who does NOT have the “right of way”) into heavy traffic… that moment when the merging vehicle is perfectly happy waiting their turn but the jerkhole in the other car decides that he/she hasn’t done something nice for someone in a long time so they risk the lives of EVERYONE around them to let the merging car in and be “polite.”

That moment is the one – when it happens – when I get as close to a murderous rage as legally possible.

Don’t be Inappropriately Polite people.  Your life may depend on it.

I bet someone here was being overly polite.

I bet someone here was being overly polite.

 

What do you think?

